Down the Hall on Your Left

This site is a blog about what has been coasting through my consciousness lately. The things I post will be reflections that I see of the world around me. You may not agree with me or like what I say. In either case – you’ll get over it and I can live with it if it makes you unhappy. Please feel free to leave comments if you wish . All postings are: copyright 2014 – 2021

That Kid Looks Old To Me

 

IT WASN’T THAT LONG AGO when I had those dreams about what I wanted to be when I grew up. At least it seems that it wasn’t all that far in the past. But, now when I look at with a calendar in my hand I realize that it was the better part of a century ago.

My God, where have those years gone?

Thanks to clever creations like Facebook I have reconnected with a few of the people I went to school with back in my Pennsylvania hometown. I see the pictures of those boys and girls as they are today and I compare them with the images of them that I carry in my memory and I am amazed. How did they get so old? They were just kids. Then I walk past a mirror and get a look at myself. That can’t be me I see reflected in that glass. What the heck happened? Whatever it was it sure wasn’t good.

I remember the old men who lived in my neighborhood when I was a kid. For crying out loud – those men were kids once, but that was in the years just after the Civil War. What are the kids today thinking when they look at me and the other kids of my youth? They must be looking at us like we are fossils from the days when dinosaurs roamed the earth.

When I was just a little tyke (Back in the Dark Ages) it was the time when Televisions began to appear in everyone’s homes. It was on our 12” Philco Brand black and while TV that I first got to see The Lone Ranger and Tonto, Roy Rogers, and Hopalong Cassidy. Being flooded with all of those cowboy heroes I was ready and willing to saddle up as soon as I finished my homework. As a kid in the mid 20th century my goal in life was to be a kid in the mid 19th century.

Fat chance of that happening.

It wasn’t long after, however, when Captain Video, Captain Midnight, and a mob of other Outer Space Heroes began to appear on the Philco and my dreams began to change. It was then that I wanted to be a kid living in the mid 23rd century. I was ready to blast off – but don’t forget my Ovaltine.

The old saying is that “Time Flies.” I think it all depends on your age. As a kid the time between Monday and Friday seemed to take forever. Now at my time of life, I wake up on Monday and it turns into Friday before I’ve had my lunch. Where did those days disappear to?

Now the pages on the calendar are whizzing by too fast for me to even read. Wasn’t it just yesterday that Neil Armstrong landed on the moon? No? It was 50 years ago? Are you kidding me? I could swear that it happened just last week.

This compression of time must be a natural thing because I have asked other people about it and they have experienced the same thing. I’m glad that it is not just me.

So what should I do? I think maybe that the best thing would be to just sit back and enjoy each day even though it seems like just a second as it goes flying by.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “That Kid Looks Old To Me

  1. This was great “Waldo”. Looking forward to seeing you in Starbucks again!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment