Down the Hall on Your Left

This site is a blog about what has been coasting through my consciousness lately. The things I post will be reflections that I see of the world around me. You may not agree with me or like what I say. In either case – you’ll get over it and I can live with it if it makes you unhappy. Please feel free to leave comments if you wish . All postings are: copyright 2014 – 2021

A farewell to John…

JOHN’S KRAFT

John Andrew Kraft, 75, wrote the last page of his incredible autobiography on Sunday, August 1, 2021. He was born to James Walsh Kraft and Blanche Rodger Kraft on July 3, 1946, in Cleveland, Ohio and raised in Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania.

John is survived by his wife, the Rev. Dawn Curlee Carlson, his son, Alex Carlson, nieces, nephews, and an abundance of friends, including his Starbucks early morning play group. He was preceded in death by his parents and his brother Jim.

John attended St. Mary’s Elementary School and Beaver Falls High School. He graduated from Baldwin-Wallace University, with a double major in political science and theater. He felt that prepared him to stage a coup and was always proud to see Baldwin-Wallace grads in almost every Playbill. John acted in theaters in Cleveland, the San Francisco Bay Area, and Terre Haute. His sense of humor and gift for stand-up comedy had him on many late night stages in the Bay Area and LA.

John’s career encompassed many roles over the years. They all came into play as he supported the woman he loved in her career as minister. He used his humor, listening skills, gift for story-telling, and his love of life to help bring the love of God to others. John was a proud and humorous curmudgeon, a gifted writer of both fiction and non-fiction, an avid blogger, a respected actor, and a devoted San Francisco Giants fan. He was a loving and true father to Alex and a generous, unplanned, and supportive clergy spouse. John was a loving husband who made his wife laugh every day and taught her everything she knows about baseball.

A private memorial celebration of life will be held at a later date. In lieu of memorials, hug the people you love and say, “I love you,” every single day.

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “A farewell to John…

  1. He was so loved and will be missed immensely. His stories brightened my day. RIP JOHN!!

    Like

  2. I am so sorry to hear this sad news. I enjoyed John´s blog posts and his unique outlook on life. Please accept my condolences, Dawn and Alex. I am sure he is keeping everyone laughing in the great beyond. RIP my blogging friend.

    Like

  3. Larry F. Sommers on said:

    Farewell, John.

    Like

  4. Please accept my sincere condolences. John was a man whose company I enjoyed, albeit never having met him personally. He humored me with his blog stories and being a Starbucks fan, myself, I felt a certain kinship. I will miss John and I wish the best to you and your family in the days ahead. God speed…

    Like

  5. petespringerauthor on said:

    I have only been following John’s blog for the last year and a half, but I enjoyed his wit. Like Steve, I also felt connected through his Starbucks group because I do something similar with my buddies. I wish his family nothing but happy remembrances.

    Like

  6. I didn’t follow John that long, but I really liked his writing and got a lot of laughs from his posts. This came as a bit of a shock. My condolences to his family and all who loved him, which is a lot of us.

    Like

  7. Please accept my deepest condolences. John was much loved and greatly admired by all his readers.

    Like

  8. My deepest condolences to Dawn and family. John was a great man, full of humor, wisdom, and kindness. He was one heck of a great writer, too. I will miss him deeply.

    Like

Leave a comment