Down the Hall on Your Left

This site is a blog about what has been coasting through my consciousness lately. The things I post will be reflections that I see of the world around me. You may not agree with me or like what I say. In either case – you’ll get over it and I can live with it if it makes you unhappy. Please feel free to leave comments if you wish . All postings are: copyright 2014 – 2018

It Is All In The Statistics

THERE IS AN OLD SAYING about Truth and Lies. That goes something like, “There are three kinds of deception – Lies, Damn Lies, and Statistics.” The clever wag that coined that must have worked for either a Government or an Internet company.

I’m not accusing anyone of telling lies! OK? I’m just saying that some things are very hard to believe – particularly in the area of Statistics.

This morning I was tiptoeing through the statistical backwater of this blog and I saw some numbers that made me stop, wipe the sleep from my eyes, and down a fresh cup of coffee.

According to the fine people at WordPress (May they be fruitful and multiply.) my little blog is being read, for some reason, in 68 different countries.

68? My first thought upon seeing that was, “No wonder the world is in such a screwed up state of affairs.” If people in 68 different countries take the time to read this blog they must be doing so with a “Nonsense to English Dictionary” at hand. It also tells me that I must be doing something right or something very, very wrong.

Down at St. Arbucks one of the Usual Suspects commented that perhaps those readers in Burma and Estonia are using my blog to learn English. My God! Am I contributing to the rise of nations learning to speak English like a 70 year old Smarty Pants who stays up too late watching Baseball and who drinks too much coffee. Saints preserve us all.

According to my phone there are 196 countries in the world, if you count Taiwan (which irks China). I choose to count Taiwan, but I still have my doubts about Canada. 196 countries and I am in 68 of them. Unless my math skills have deteriorated that is roughly 1/3rd of the world.

Behind this geographical proliferation there must be a logical reason. One suggestion that has merit is that in much of the world there is very limited cable television. If that is so then I think some countries must only get The Golf Channel.

Day in and day out I drop about 500 words about one topic or another and then let it fly into the ether. Where it comes down I have no control. When I give my words the wing from Terre Haute (That’s French for, “What does that mean?”) it never occurs to me that they might be read by someone in Saudi Arabia or Argentina. I am amazed that my screeds are read by anyone let alone by folks in Europe, Asia, Africa, and the Americas – crossing cultures, languages, and circumstances both political and personal.

Don’t take me wrong, I’m very pleased that people in 68 countries see fit to cast an eye in my direction, for whatever reason.

I intend to keep on with this blog for the foreseeable future, unless Life gets in the way and puts an end to it and/or me. It keeps me disciplined as a writer and amused as an observer of my world. I kinda like that.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “It Is All In The Statistics

  1. Love this!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

