Down the Hall on Your Left

This site is a blog about what has been coasting through my consciousness lately. The things I post will be reflections that I see of the world around me. You may not agree with me or like what I say. In either case – you’ll get over it and I can live with it if it makes you unhappy. Please feel free to leave comments if you wish . All postings are: copyright 2014 – 2017

It Was A Dark And Stormy Night

ONE OF THE THINGS I REALLY ENJOY about doing this blog is the freedom of expression it allows me. Monday through Friday is pretty much of a Nonsense Dance. I can let my “Silly Gene” run wild. Mutations happen.

Each week I know that I can come up with about five things that can make me, and hopefully a few readers, laugh – or at least giggle.

I’m a big fan of The Giggle. I know that if I don’t get my quota of giggles I am all too likely to turn into some kind of serious loon who climbs up into the clock tower with a deer rifle. Laughter is not only good medicine it is also an inexpensive form of crowd control. If someone is laughing they are far less likely to go postal on you. It is hard to become disgruntled if something first makes you gruntled.

Another benefit of this blog, for me at least, is that it allows me to exercise that small portion of my brain (See diagram) that demands that I be creative. I don’t sing (well), I don’t dance (I look like I’m having a seizure.), and I gave up painting years ago. I took lessons for a long time before I had to admit that I hadn’t inherited any artistic talent from my mother who was a professional.

I couldn’t do those other expressive activities, but I could talk. I started young. My first words were, “How about a refill down here? And I’ve never stopped. Writing is just a way for me to keep talking without waking the neighbors. I have notebooks everywhere in case I feel the need. I keep a pad of 3 X 5 Post-it Notes in my pocket at all times and I help to keep the local Dollar Store afloat with all of the cheap pens that I buy. So this blog is more than coherent spam in your mailbox every day. It is a boost to the local economy. I didn’t realize that I was helping to keep a number of middle-aged people employed, busy restocking the shelves on Aisle Seven.

Five days a week I can crank out verbal Cotton Candy – light, airy, and probably bad for your teeth, but fun. On Saturdays I shift gears.

On Saturday I try to stop being a writer and become an author. The pay is worse, but the benefits are better. I get to let my semi-dark side loose in the backyard.

For the last few months I have been serializing a novel that I first published a few years ago. It’s not bad. It’s not John Steinbeck either. The last bits and pieces of it will be online in early June.

I have been working on a sequel (At popular request I might add.) for some time and it is moving along. There is still a boatload of work yet to do before it is done. When a major project like a full length novel (60K – 85K words) is being born it often occurs to me that what I really enjoy is having written a book, not the actual writing of the darned thing.

So my dilemma is – what happens on Saturdays once the current opus beaches itself? I do have a number of short stories and other creative effluvia available, and there are other things I could dust off and move from Middle English into the vernacular.

I’ve got a little time on this and I’ve trained my pen to keep writing even when my brain is not engaged. It’s not a case of Saturday might go dark for lack of content. No, it’s more like, “Is this thing worth the effort to retype?”

Now my task is to organize my thoughts, decide what comes next, and then get to work to fill those Saturday slots.

It’s a good thing that I’m rarely at a loss for words – which also explains why I had to carry so many notes home from my teachers.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “It Was A Dark And Stormy Night

  1. Well, whatever pops your cork, don’t stop!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

