Down the Hall on Your Left

This site is a blog about what has been coasting through my consciousness lately. The things I post will be reflections that I see of the world around me. You may not agree with me or like what I say. In either case – you’ll get over it and I can live with it if it makes you unhappy. Please feel free to leave comments if you wish . All postings are: copyright 2014 – 2018

Don’t Panic

 

“I REFUSE TO ANSWER THAT QUESTION ON THE GROUNDS THAT I DON’T KNOW THE ANSWER.”

— Douglas Adams

I wish that more people would adopt that practice. As each day slops over into the next I become more and more exhausted by people who think that they have THE answer to, not only every question that people ask, but also to the questions that nobody bothers asking.

Every morning when I get up and put another lump of coal into our Internet Server and drop another quarter into the computer I am inundated by a tsunami of intellectual effluvia. And each morning I find that I am becoming more used to it. I don’t like that and I feel that I must take arms against this sea of troubles – or at least fingers. I have a keyboard and I’m not afraid to use it.

Relax; I don’t intend to launch my own counter tsunami. That would never work for two reasons.

1) The fountains of daily effluvia can certainly spew more nonsense than I could ever hose away, and

2) I have better stuff to do, like talking things over with the neighbor’s dog and lunch.

Underlying much of the sludge that washes ashore onto my screen is anger. People’s anger that the things in their lives are they way they are –or aren’t the way they want them to be – or a combination of the two. I think it’s their confusion that actually makes them angry. They want the world and everything in it to be logical and make sense. Lotsa luck on that.

If the world was populated solely by small furry creatures and larger furry creatures that eat the small ones then the world would be logical and make sense. However, as a result of meteor strikes, learning to make fire, and mutation-prone DNA, humanity got a foothold and prospered. Things stopped making sense at about the same time.

“A common mistake that people make when trying to design something completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools.”

— Douglas Adams

When things go awry so many people seem surprised. Things can be designed with a beauty and elegance that can bring you to tears, but there is always some fool in the neighborhood who thinks it would all be better if they were painted purple and played polka music.

It seems that so much of what comes my way online is recycled misinterpretation of logic and truth pushed through the meat grinder of jealousy, greed, and flat out stupidity. Lately it seems worse and so many people seem to be lusting for blood without realizing any blood that would be spilled might be theirs.

Human beings can be so shortsighted that what happens today is all that matters even if tomorrow might bring them to catastrophe.

I think that it is amazing that we, as a species, have managed to survive considering that, by and large, we are as dumb as a sackful of hammers.

“You live and learn. At any rate, you live.”

— Douglas Adams

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Don’t Panic

  1. Yes Sir! And locally I can think of a few things that your writing could refer to. (Not that you were) Like, new Interstate By Passes; a new jail; new High Schools (or at the least renovation one-by-one); and, of course again, a new jail. And, how some things are going to be paid for and how paying for them is going to affect us.

    Surprise!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wellll…I think that this refers to any number of things. So, I guess that all I can say is, “If the Birkenstock fits, wear it.”

    Surprise indeed.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Your last paragraph was great. So much truth.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

