Down the Hall on Your Left

This site is a blog about what has been coasting through my consciousness lately. The things I post will be reflections that I see of the world around me. You may not agree with me or like what I say. In either case – you’ll get over it and I can live with it if it makes you unhappy. Please feel free to leave comments if you wish . All postings are: copyright 2014 – 2018

It All Depends On…

time1IS LIFE A SERIES OF EVERCHANGING ILLUSIONS? Can we ever be certain that things are as we perceive them to be? I’m not all that sure, Buckaroos.

When I was a kid, when dinosaurs still roamed the Earth, Time seemed to move much slower than it does now. Back then the span of time from Monday until Friday seemed to take forever. Each school day stretched out endlessly.

illusion3

The only time it was different was Summer Vacation – once it at last arrived. Then, before I knew it, my mother was dragging me around town shopping for new school clothes. I don’t know why she bothered – it was a small town and I always ended up getting my older brother’s “Hand-Me-Downs.”

In my world today Time seems to fly by before I can even get a firm grasp on which day it is. I don’t think that I would ever be able to keep track of it if it wasn’t for the TV listings.

I know that I get out of bed and before I’m sure of anything it’s getting dark and the trash still needs to be hauled down to the curb.

Another illusion in life is the perception, or more correctly, the misperception of Age.

When we were all children the kids who were in high school looked so “grown-up” and mature. That meant that our parents were ancient, almost as ancient as the people who lived in the retirement home down the block. I was always tempted to ask them if they had ever met Jesus. My mother discouraged me from doing that under the threat of me not getting any older.

“I brought you into this world…!”

time3Nowadays when I encounter any high school kids my first thought is, “Can they cross the street by themselves?” My second thought is about how they are dressed. The girls all look like B-Movie hookers and the boys just look stupid. Then I realize that every generation thinks that about their crop of teenagers.

This illusion about age is present at the other end of the calendar as well. When people my age hear about someone passing away who is, say, also my age, someone will speak up, saying, “He was still a young man.”

No he wasn’t. He was old. Three score and ten. His warranty was long ago expired. And now he is room temperature. Get real.time4

The ubiquitous “They” say that Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. That may be so, but it depends also on how old that eye is. This may explain why, at the age of seven, I expressed my attraction to the singer Peggy Lee. Peggy was a Rhythm and Blues singer, considerably older than me, and had the hard edged look of someone who had spent a lot of time staring at the bottom of a glass. It was never meant to be, but at seven, I didn’t think the age difference was an unscaleable hurdle.

Alas, nothing ever became of it with Peggy, especially once the Mickey Mouse Club began time5broadcasting with Annette Funicello.

Time is a wonderful thing. It keeps today and tomorrow from bumping into each other. It allows us to grow and learn and study before the test. It gives us the opportunity to go on a second date with that one perfect person. Without Time “Game of Thrones” would have been over long ago. (OK, so it’s not without flaws.)

We all have time. Some more than others, but while it can be a tricky thing filled with illusions and misperceptions, it is really all we’ve got.

Let’s try to make the most of it, shall we?

illusion

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

