Down the Hall on Your Left

This site is a blog about what has been coasting through my consciousness lately. The things I post will be reflections that I see of the world around me. You may not agree with me or like what I say. In either case – you’ll get over it and I can live with it if it makes you unhappy. Please feel free to leave comments if you wish . All postings are: copyright 2014 – 2018

Have A Cookie

blog1

THERE ARE DAYS WHEN I SIT DOWN TO WRITE for the blog and I haven’t got the foggiest idea where it’s going – like today. It has been a busy and tiring week and I’m currently operating on one lobe.

Nothing has leapt off the pages of the newspaper. Nothing odd, bizarre, or just plain funny has trotted across the landscape in front of me.

Some days are like that.

blog5

If doing this blog six times a week was easy it wouldn’t be worth doing – or reading. It takes effort as well as time to put it all together. I aim for a count of 500 -700 words. More than that would require additional time for you, the reader, than you might be able to spare. Life is a busy place to spend your day.

I figure that those 500+ words will take no more than 5 minutes to read. I want each posting to be a small treat, a cookie, and not a 5 course meal. I’ll leave that to the Political Bloggers and the Online Teachers. The Political Bloggers are trying to sell you something or someone while the Teachers are trying to get you to think for yourself. Me? On most days I’m happy if you giggle a time or two. On the remaining days I’m just venting about my feet hurting.

To put together a pile of words 500 700 high can take me about an hour, unless there’s a good movie on the TV, and then it can take me 4 hours. Honestly, it takes me longer to gather up the blog4silly pictures and get it all in the publishing queue, than it does to write it.

When I started doing this verbal cookie sheet it was as an exercise in self-discipline. It forces me to write every day (Well…almost every day). I need that regimen if I ever want to finish any of the 4 – 5 half written novels on my digital shelf. So far, since I started this blog, I have done approximately 550 postings…and I have added about only 15 pages to one of the novels.

I must be doing something wrong.

As far as today’s blog is concerned – well, you see my dilemma. A normal 500 – 700 word blog fills up about 2 ½ pages in your standard 8” X 10 ½” spiral notebook. As of this sentence I have completely filled two of those pages. That means that I have about 100 words left before I’ll be in literary overtime.

I hate when that happens.

I hate it because then I feel pressured to write faster (I know that makes no sense), and I start edging stage left to make a quick getaway.

For some people (or so I’ve heard) writing seems to be an easy task. For me the easiest part is not doing it at all. I can find good excuses to not write just about anywhere.

“Look! A squirrel!”

That can give me a good 45 minutes of non-work that I can use to tell squirrel jokes. It’s a fact.

Hopefully, by this time tomorrow this space will be filled with wit, humor, or, at least, cookie crumbs.

Please come back tomorrow. Thanks.

AddTextToPhoto(23-8-2016-5-18-34)

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Have A Cookie

  1. I’m just a Rookie when it comes to writing, but I also have three projects that I can’t get back in the mood to finish. All three are writing projects. I have a friend over across into Illinois that keeps telling me to, “Get back on track, Ronnie!”. You know, one just has to be in that frame-of-mind, I don’t think it’s laziness. I appreciate her encouragement, though.

    “There’s a man trying to cross the street. As he steps off the curb a car comes screaming around the corner and heads straight for him. The man walks faster, trying to hurry across the street, but the car changes lanes and is still coming at him. So the guy turns around to go back, but the car changes lanes again and is still coming at him.

    By now, the car is so close and the man so scared that he just freezes and stops in the middle of the road. The car gets real close, then swerves at the last possible moment and screeches to a halt right next him.

    The driver rolls down the window. The driver is a squirrel.

    The squirrel says to the man says, ‘See, it’s not as easy as it looks, is it?!’ ”

    There’s a moral, or something, here somewhere. Isn’t there?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Carolyn on said:

    I’m not a writer, but I love to read and I enjoy your blog; even when you can’t think of anything to write about. Loved the squirrel joke.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

