Down the Hall on Your Left

This site is a blog about what has been coasting through my consciousness lately. The things I post will be reflections that I see of the world around me. You may not agree with me or like what I say. In either case – you’ll get over it and I can live with it if it makes you unhappy. Please feel free to leave comments if you wish . All postings are: copyright 2014 – 2017

Carrying On About Carry-On

7WHEN THEY SAY “CARRY-ON” LUGGAGE I don’t think that they mean luggage that has so much stuff in it that the Airline Cabin Crew, other passengers, Customs people, car rental people, and me start to carry on about it.

I must admit that my carry-on is just that, but in the same way that a 30 cubic foot refrigerator/freezer on wheels can be considered “portable.”

My carry-on bag for our flight over the Atlantic is called a “Messenger Bag.” I think that it was1 designed to be big enough to carry messages, but not the messenger. I had so much in my bag that it could have been renamed a “Supplies for a ten year round trip to the outer reaches of the solar system” bag.

I packed my netbook computer, Kindle, a few jump drives with music and movies, the Medusa of cables and adaptors, a Ziploc bag with an extra pair of socks and undies (Just in case our checked bags 1went to Dubai instead of Dublin), and 7 weeks’ worth of my meds.

That may not sound like anything all that bulky or heavy until we get to the last item – my meds.

Thanks to Modern Medicine, and a couple of scares, I am alive. Runaway high blood pressure (brought on by stress that I might write about someday) had me on the edge of the abyss. As the 2price for surviving I now down a daily buffet of medications and supplements that keep my BP in check and give me an aerobic workout just carrying my day’s dosage around with me. I think of it as “Pumping Prescriptions” so that when I go to bed at night I can mimic Arnold the Terminator and say, “I’ll be back.”

Packing for a seven week long excursion overseas took some planning. I began massaging the egos at the Kroger Pharmacy months ago so they would cooperate and not forget to submit my request to the insurance carrier for an early bulk shipment of my needed junk. The same with my doctor so he would write the necessary scrips. All I had to promise was a small bag of sand for one of the pharmacists and plenty of pictures for the doctor.

Everything was put in my hands about 10 days before liftoff. Then came the challenge of trying to find the best way to pack it.

Rule #1 – Never pack meds in checked luggage. Anything with a perceived street value tends to grow legs and walk away.

Rule #2 – All meds must be in their original containers.

6I seriously doubt that the TSA automatons can tell the difference between heart medication and a bag of M&Ms. Unless they get snotty with me, I’ll pretend they serve a purpose while they pretend to have opposable thumbs.

After a few attempts and reconfigurations of the little orange plastic bottles I got everything into my carry-on messenger bag. I was so proud. Giving it a heft, however, I felt my shoulder dip like I was playing the part8 of “El Pachuco” in the movie “Zoot Suit (From 1981 – I highly recommend it).

“I’m fine. I got it.”

Being able to carry on with my carry-on was going to require some practice I didn’t look any more suspicious than usual as I went through Customs. I didn’t want to look like I was trying to smuggle my cousin Faisal into the country. People are touchy today.

All in all, things went well on both ends. The TSA bipeds in this country looked stern while 1456628471512trying to hide their dilated pupils, and the folks in Irish Customs were professional and able to read without moving their lips.

On our way home in a few weeks we will go through everything in reverse – only then my bag will be much lighter. I may have a few souvenirs in the bag, but I know that it will be much lighter and my posture will be better.

10

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Carrying On About Carry-On

  1. After reading todays “story”, the only comment that comes to mind is a visit I had with my Cardiologist a few years ago, after an “episode” with my heart, and spending a few days in the hospital. He was asking me what I would do if this happened or that happened while I was on an extended trip to George and Florida to visit my two Brothers. He wasn’t giving me much of a chance to answer, but when he finally finished the only thing I could think of to say was, “If everything else fails, I’ll take a pill!!” (I was on 14 of them at the time). I was surprised when he acted like that satisfied him. He didn’t say anything, just got up from that little black stool and walked out the door. I wondered (but didn’t really care) if I had pissed him off.

    Like

  2. Doctors are like that. Not long ago one of my doctors asked me what I did for exercise. He was not amused when I told him that I’d started shopping at the new Meijer superstore. If you haven’t been there it is several hundred thousand sq. ft. in size. When they first opened they handed out maps of the store so you wouldn’t get lost. The doctor didn’t even smile.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

