Down the Hall on Your Left

This site is a blog about what has been coasting through my consciousness lately. The things I post will be reflections that I see of the world around me. You may not agree with me or like what I say. In either case – you’ll get over it and I can live with it if it makes you unhappy. Please feel free to leave comments if you wish . All postings are: copyright 2014 – 2017

Throwback Thursday – From April 3, 2015

Throwback Thursday1

I Love Scientific Research

Chocolate temple

I DID A LITTLE READING this week about a research project conducted at both Columbia and New York Universities about the healthful benefits of Chocolate.

Ooh, it’s a good thing.

According to the research – Chocolate contains a chemical compound called “Flavanois” and that a large dose is better than exercise.

I can get behind that. I’ve been following that concept for decades without the research to back it up for me.

Of course, the researchers added that it took, literally, a ton of Flavanois to do that. Picky, picky, picky.

The researchers used a highly concentrated form of cocoa powder for their experimentation (Picture “Swiss Miss” on crack.) and to get a comparable effect at home I would have to eat 44 pounds of Chocolate each and every day.

So, what’s your point?

I like Chocolate. I have always liked Chocolate. It makes me happy. I know that I cannot eat 44 pounds of Chocolate every day – two, three times a week maybe, but every day – no. You have to leave room for pizza.

This research indicates that Chocolate is good for your brain. I could have told you that. I eat Chocolate and I am happy and being happy is good for my brain. But more importantly, Chocolate is good for the soul.

Give me a nice Dark Chocolate truffle and my soul rhapsodizes about the glories of Creation and I whisper a “Thank You” to the Great Chocolatier in The Sky.

“Dear Lord, You done good. Amen.”

Even something as mundane as a Snickers can sooth the savage beast in me. Those TV commercials got that right.

I do think that a massive air drop of Hershey’s Kisses over war zones could bring about positive and peaceful results.

There are people in this world who, for a number of reasons, don’t eat Chocolate. My wife, the Incredible Rev. Dawn, is one of those souls. I feel sad for them, but at the same time, I realize that their Achocolatizing means that it is, “All The More For Me.” La, La, La, La! I’m sorry. I shouldn’t do that out loud.

See, even just talking about Chocolate is good for my brain!

When I read about this research this morning I was sitting in the Chapel at St. Arbucks. When I started to softly cry to myself I know that the other people there assumed that I was lost in a spiritual ecstasy. They were right. I was moved to tears so profoundly that I got up from my pew and got a brownie from the barista. It seemed like the right thing to do and I intend to do it again tomorrow morning. (I’m smiling right now.)

If I was a more lyrical soul I would write poetry to Chocolate, but I’m just afraid it might come out as a “There was a young woman named ‘Nestle’…” But I see no reason to avoid writing an Action/Thriller about “Little Debbie.” Yes, I do. Those cake makers would sue my semi-sweet self.

Oh, Well. That saddens me. I think I’ll go whip up a big snifter full of Qwik. There, I feel better already.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday – From April 3, 2015

  1. I would suppose you already know, but there is a little ditty about “a young woman named ‘Nestle’….”, but I can’t remember exactly how it goes. Something to do with a “trestle” and train tracks. Even if I knew, I probably couldn’t, or shouldn’t, write it here. Like your Throwbacks, John. What was missed a year ago can be enjoyed today. Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

