Down the Hall on Your Left

This site is a blog about what has been coasting through my consciousness lately. The things I post will be reflections that I see of the world around me. You may not agree with me or like what I say. In either case – you’ll get over it and I can live with it if it makes you unhappy. Please feel free to leave comments if you wish . All postings are: copyright 2014 – 2017

Chariots Of Fire-Brewed

ben_hur_01THIS AFTERNOON I WAS ON MY WAY to the office and trying to come up with an idea for this blog posting.

I was stopped at the red light, so I had some time to look around, and on the other side of the intersection, by the Mobil gas station/Mini-Mart, something caught my eye.

Crossing the parking lot I could see a woman pedaling strenuously on a bicycle. She wasn’t going very fast because she appeared to be pulling a small wagon, or trailer. It was no more than a foot square with a metal pole at the front. Inside this small wagon I could see a rather tall man, standing upright, clutching the pole. He was being towed by the woman on the bicycle. She was steering and pedaling and the man was holding on and sipping from a bottle of beer.

Visualize, if you will, a sort of modern day chariot. I can’t imagine the Pharaoh of Egypt, chasing Moses and the fleeing Hebrews, while riding in one like this, but the principle appeared to be basically the same.

I watched as they crossed the parking lot, then turned and disappeared down an alley. I hoped the man had a firm hold on the upright pole. I know that alley and it can get rather bumpy in places.

I know that there was a parade in downtown Terre Haute (That’s French for, “Hold my beer.”) today in honor of the Labor Day holiday, but this vehicle that I saw would have been a most unusual float to have there.

One man, drinking a beer, being pulled by a sweating woman on a bicycle? I can’t imagine what the connection might be to the celebration of the American Worker.

All I can say about our parade, even under the best of circumstances, is, “This is a pretty lame parade, and why are the marchers throwing hard candy at the spectators?”

That candy will eventually be picked up by the squirrels because, if this year’s parade was anything like those in previous years, there were about twelve people watching from the curb. Twelve people who were watching because they were looking for a break between marchers so they could cross the street to get to the new frozen yogurt shop – it’s a hot day in Terre Haute. If any of the spectators were from out of town I’m sure they were mystified about why they were being pelted with hard candy. I’ve never seen this done anywhere before.

Now, if the solo rider with the beer had been in the parade, he might have tossed a few beers to the people on the sidewalk. That, I’m sure, they would have appreciated more than the hard candy missiles, and it might increase the number of parade spectators in the future.

I was tempted to follow the bicycle beer guy just to see how far they were going. I hoped that they weren’t going too far because the woman doing all the work seemed to be really struggling.

This chariot/parade float was not very efficient. A horse doing the pulling would have been better than a two wheeled Raleigh bicycle. It would have been easier on the woman as well. With a horse up front they could have expanded the size of the chariot part so that she could ride too – and have a cold beer. A Clydesdale would have been most appropriate.

Some days I have to struggle to come up with a subject for the blog. Today all I had to do was stop at the red light and the subject passed before my eyes.

Some days it’s downright scary.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

