Down the Hall on Your Left

This site is a blog about what has been coasting through my consciousness lately. The things I post will be reflections that I see of the world around me. You may not agree with me or like what I say. In either case – you’ll get over it and I can live with it if it makes you unhappy. Please feel free to leave comments if you wish . All postings are: copyright 2014 – 2017

Decisions, Decisions, Decisions

decisionEVERY DAY OF OUR LIVES we are faced with a never ending barrage of choices.

From the moment we first open our eyes we have to make one decision after another. Should I close my eyes again and go back to sleep – or – Should I get up and got to work or school or whatever?

It doesn’t stop there. Before we head out the door we will have had to choose one thing over another at least a dozen times – cereal or eggs, white shirt or blue, shave or go out looking really primate? It goes on like this all day, every day, year after year.

I don’t know about you, but I am finding it somewhat exhausting after almost 70 years. Unfortunately, the only ways to either minimize or stop this decision making marathon are seriously unpleasant.

So, what’s a boy to do?

One thing that I’m trying is to limit the number of decisions per day, or my DPD. If I can whittle that down I will consider it a plus.

For example:

At lunch today I was faced with a choice – which bottle of Hot Chinese Mustard should I use on my Pot Stickers? Before embarking on my quest for a reduced DPD I would have had to ponder the relative merits of both brands of mustard that were sitting in the refrigerator door. But, today, I just opened the fridge door and grabbed the first bottle I saw. The fact that I did actually grab some Hot Chinese Mustard and not the bottle of Orange Juice I take to be a sign that my plan has merit.

This afternoon when I ventured out to St. Arbucks (aka “The Office”) to write I knew that I would be faced with another choice – coffee or tea? This choice was erased when I walked through the door and the barista was holding up a lovely iced coffee. She had seen me coming and headed off my decision at the pass. Another sign of veracity and viability of my DPD plan? The evidence is mounting that I may be on to something here.

In one area of my daily decision making I think that I may have been practicing my Plan unconsciously for some time.

On most days, after I have gotten up and dressed for the day, I have heard people whisper that I look like I got dressed in the dark. Well, it’s true. When I get up I reach out and grab whatever clothing items are on top. Doing this speeds along the process, saving me time as well as eliminating the need to decide what goes with what. The only times that this becomes awkward is when I get my shoes mixed up and I end up with one Slip-on and one Hiking Boot. I usually catch this anomaly before leaving the house.

So, when I hear people comment about me “dressing in the dark,” I take it as a compliment.  Wouldn’t you?

Eliminating the decision making burden altogether is close to impossible. I understand that. To do so I would either have to die or be elected to Congress. In one all brain function ceases and rotting sets in. In the other, your family has a funeral service and donates your organs.

Neither one sounds very pretty if you ask me.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

