Down the Hall on Your Left

This site is a blog about what has been coasting through my consciousness lately. The things I post will be reflections that I see of the world around me. You may not agree with me or like what I say. In either case – you’ll get over it and I can live with it if it makes you unhappy. Please feel free to leave comments if you wish . All postings are: copyright 2014 – 2017

We Are Good To Go

toyota of terre hauteBACK IN DECEMBER, just before Christmas, we bade farewell to the old Hyundai after twelve years and brought home a new (to us) Toyota. Yesterday I took the Barcelona Red car in to the dealer for its first checkup after 5000 miles. It kinda felt like taking the baby in for some booster shots, or the cat to be spayed.

Seeing how I didn’t want this to chop up my day more than necessary I made the appointment for 7:45 AM. I figured that I would be awake enough to safely drive there and they would be awake enough to recognize the car as one of theirs.

When I pulled the car into the Service area and walked through the door I was greeted by a lineup of four people, not much more alert than I, who looked at me and smiled.

I hate that before 9 AM.

When they said nothing (to the best of my auditory awareness) I looked back at them and said, “OK, who’s the lucky winner today?”

The one on the end, and the only woman, said, “Are you Mr. Kraft?”

“To the best of my knowledge and belief – Yes.”

She asked me for my name, address and phone number again for some reason. After all, I was bringing the car IN, not taking one OUT, and I was going to stay there until they were done. Oh, well. It was their yard; I’d play by their rules.

I explained again why I was there, oil change, 5k mile checkup, free coffee – then she pointed the way to the “Customer Lounge” so they could get to work.

It wasn’t long before she verified the fact that I wasn’t the only semi-conscious person there by coming into the “Customer Lounge” to advise me that it was, indeed, time for an oil change. I nodded and she went away. I went back to my paperback novel.

Five minutes later she was back again. I was concerned that she was going to tell me that they were out of oil and could they use yesterday’s coffee instead. But – No, she was carrying my air filter or something that looked like it was either my air filter or something from somebody’s furnace. It was covered in acorn shells.

“Mr. Kraft, I think you have a little friend who likes to hide on top of your engine. Do you have squirrels in your yard?”

“Squirrels, raccoons, opossum, rabbits, and the odd coyote. On top of the engine is probably the only place they can get some peace and quiet. I don’t see that there is much I can do about it – short of land mines.”

I think that woke her up a bit, because, this time, she nodded and walked away.

I’m not a good conversationalist that early in the morning. I’m stumbling about, fairly incoherent and incapable of adult interaction. I wasn’t trying to be rude or anything and I don’t think she felt insulted because she kept smiling the entire time.

(Sidebar: People who are that chipper that early in the day are intolerable and often using something more than coffee as an eye-opener. The consensus is that, come the revolution, all those perky people are the first ones up against the wall – after lawyers who advertise on TV and telephone solicitors that is.)

I don’t know if it was because I had an early appointment or because they just wanted me out of there, but I was back in the car and on the road within an hour. They gave the car a clean bill of health, including a rotation of the tires. It was so quickly done that I was able to get to the Chapel at St. Arbucks in time for the 9 AM Service/Brewing. Let’s hear it for the folks at Toyota.

Can I have an Amen!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

