Down the Hall on Your Left

This site is a blog about what has been coasting through my consciousness lately. The things I post will be reflections that I see of the world around me. You may not agree with me or like what I say. In either case – you’ll get over it and I can live with it if it makes you unhappy. Please feel free to leave comments if you wish . All postings are: copyright 2014 – 2017

Dodging A Bullet

Snow shovels

 

THROUGHOUT THE ENTIRE weekend all I saw and heard on my TV was that there was a monster winter storm coming. The talking heads on The Tube were using terms like, “Storm of the Century,” and “Once in a Lifetime Storm.” They were showing pictures from the “Blizzard of 1978.” That was the one that sent me scampering off to snow-free California.

Uh – oh. Brace yourself.

Sunday night came and the predicted rain began. Overnight it was supposed to turn to snow, followed by cannibalism for those who hadn’t prepared by looting the Kroger grocery store.

I woke up Monday morning afraid to peek out the window. I didn’t hear any traffic sounds. I didn’t hear the neighbor’s dogs barking – not a good omen.

After abluting myself and getting dressed I went downstairs and looked out the window. Something must have been amiss. I didn’t see any snow. I didn’t even see any of the rainfall from last night. The streets were dry. I looked up toward Wabash Avenue and saw cars and trucks just whizzing by. I had expected to see nothing and no one. What the heck was going on here?

I turned on the TV and learned from the local Weather Bunny on Channel Two that the storm had moved to the north a bit and, while Indianapolis and Chicago were getting hammered, Terre Haute was just having a Monday morning. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not complaining.

Terre Haute (French for “Biscuits and Gravy”) is situated in a geographical sweet spot. We are just a hair too far south to be subject to the phenomenon known as “Lake Effect.” It is Lake Effect that gives Chicago, Cleveland, Buffalo and other cities along the Great Lakes those snowfalls measured in feet rather than inches. I lived in Cleveland for thirteen years. I know all about Lake Effect.

We are just beyond the reach of the Lake Effect snows and we are just another short hair too far north to be considered “Hill Country” like Kentucky.  The mountains of Appalachia deliver some serious snow on those people.

So, we are too far south for one thing and too far north for the other.

Sweet.

All we have to contend with is Interstate 70 and, maybe, the lack of a really good Japanese restaurant.

The Weather Channel is still talking about how New York City and Boston might be soon disappearing under a mile or two of snow. I’m sorry folks, but I’m not all that worked up about it. If you are going to live in Boston you should expect this kind of snowy Armageddon several times a year, and New York City? Fugeddaboutit.

I’ve reached a stage in life when I care about my own creature comforts more than I care about how much snow New York City has to deal with. I’m sorry, but that’s the truth. If the positions were reversed I’m sure that Mayor Whatever of New York wouldn’t be losing any sleep over the snow in my driveway.

I guess that’s it.

Carry on and don’t forget to donate generously to the “Snow Shovels For New York” charity.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

